9-1-1 Communications

Emergency Communications

The Nash County Emergency Communications Center receives and dispatches calls for service for all fire, rescue, EMS and law enforcement agencies in Nash County which includes:
  • Fifteen volunteer fire departments
  • Four rescue departments, which also provide backup ambulance service to Nash County EMS
  • Ten Nash County EMS Stations
  • Nash County Sheriff’s Office
  • Six municipal police departments for the towns of Bailey, Middlesex, Spring Hope, Nashville, Whitakers, and Sharpsburg
The center also dispatches for the Nash County Social Services Child Protective Services Unit, Nash County Home Health, and Nash County Animal Control on nights, holidays, and weekends.

Employee Certifications

The Nash County Emergency Communications Center has 22 employees that are certified in the three National Academy of Emergency Dispatch Protocol Systems (NAED) which are emergency medical dispatch, emergency fire dispatch, and emergency police dispatch. These protocols standardize the call-taking process in addition to allowing for pre-arrival instructions to be provided to the caller over the phone while emergency responders are en-route.

Nash County Emergency Communications is one of the few 9-1-1 Centers in North Carolina that utilizes the three NAED Protocol Systems.